Best answer: How many regions are in Uganda?

Which is the biggest region in Uganda?

Northern Region

The North is one of four regions in the African country of Uganda. While the northern region is the largest in the country in terms of area, it is the region with the lowest population in terms of population.

How many states does Uganda have?

As of July 2020, Uganda is divided into 135 districts and the capital city of Kampala, which are grouped into four administrative regions. Since 2005, the Ugandan government has been in the process of dividing districts into smaller units.

How many divisions are in Uganda?

Uganda is divided into (from largest to smallest): 4 administrative regions. 15 sub-regions. 121 districts.

Which is the richest district in Uganda?

Wakiso District was ranked top, ahead of Kampala District, as the “richest” district based on GDP per capita despite Kampala District having a higher GDP. This is because Kampala has a higher population than Wakiso, which brings down its average income (GDP per capita).

Which is the smallest district in Uganda?

Kampala is the smallest district in Uganda and yet carries the biggest population.

Which district is at the Centre of Uganda?

The geographic centre of Uganda is north of Lake Kyoga in Olyaka village, Olyaka parish in Namasale sub-county in Amolatar District, Northern Uganda.

IT\'S AMAZING:  What African country has Portuguese as it's official language?

Why is Uganda called Uganda?

Uganda is named after the Buganda kingdom, which encompasses a large portion of the south of the country, including the capital Kampala. The people of Uganda were hunter-gatherers until 1,700 to 2,300 years ago, when Bantu-speaking populations practicing agriculture migrated to the southern parts of the country.

How many eastern districts are in Uganda?

The Eastern region is one of four regions in the country of Uganda.


District Budaka
Population (Census 1991) 100,348
Population (Census 2002) 136,489
Population (Census 2014) 207,597
Chief town Budaka

How many cities are in Uganda?

In May 2019, the Cabinet of Uganda approved the creation of 15 cities, in a phased manner, over the course of the next one to three years, as illustrated in the table below. The 7 of the 15 cities started operations on 1 July 2020 as approved by the Parliament of Uganda.