What are all the regions of Africa?

What are the 5 African regions?

The UN Statistics Division has subdivided the African continent into five regions, Northern Africa, Central or Middle Africa , Southern Africa, East Africa, and Western Africa.

How many regions are there in Africa?

Africa has eight major physical regions: the Sahara, the Sahel, the Ethiopian Highlands, the savanna, the Swahili Coast, the rain forest, the African Great Lakes, and Southern Africa.

What are the 6 regions of Africa?

Six regions: North Africa, West Africa, Central Africa, North East Africa, East Africa, Southern Africa.

What are the names of the regions of Africa?

The five regions of Africa.

  • The United Nations Geoscheme divides Africa into 5 subregions: Northern Africa, West Africa, East Africa, Middle Africa, and Southern Africa.
  • There are 54 countries in Africa.
  • An estimated 1.369 billion people live in Africa.

What is the 6th region?

Within the African Union, there are 6 regions: North Africa, West Africa, Central Africa, East Africa, Southern Africa, plus one last region, the “Sixth Region“, which constitutes the African Diaspora.

IT\'S AMAZING:  Frequent question: How do I get a gold mining license in Nigeria?

What four regions is Africa divided into?

Africa is divided into West Africa, North Africa, Central and South Africa, and East Africa.

Are there 57 countries in Africa?

There are 54 countries in Africa today, according to the United Nations.

What are the 7 continents of Africa?

There are seven continents: Asia, Africa, North America, South America, Antarctica, Europe, and Australia (listed from largest to smallest in size).

What is the top of Africa called?

The tip is Africa is called the Cape of Good Hope.

What are African regional groupings?

The Regional Economic Communities (RECs) are regional groupings of African states. … Generally, the purpose of the RECs is to facilitate regional economic integration between members of the individual regions and through the wider African Economic Community (AEC), which was established under the Abuja Treaty (1991).

How many regions are in South Africa?

South Africa has nine provinces, each with its own legislature, premier and executive council – and distinctive landscape, population, economy and climate.

Is Africa in the west or east?

The continent is bounded on the west by the Atlantic Ocean, on the north by the Mediterranean Sea, on the east by the Red Sea and the Indian Ocean, and on the south by the mingling waters of the Atlantic and Indian oceans. Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc.

Is South Africa a region?

Southern Africa, southernmost region of the African continent, comprising the countries of Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.