What are the subregions of Africa?

What are the 5 subregions of Africa?

The UN Statistics Division has subdivided the African continent into five regions, Northern Africa, Central or Middle Africa , Southern Africa, East Africa, and Western Africa.

What are the 4 subregions of Africa?

The 39 Sub-Saharan African countries can be divided into four subregions: Central Africa (4 countries), East Africa (10 countries), Southern Africa (9 countries), and Western Africa (16 countries).

What are the main regions of Africa?

Africa has eight major physical regions: the Sahara, the Sahel, the Ethiopian Highlands, the savanna, the Swahili Coast, the rain forest, the African Great Lakes, and Southern Africa.

What is the African subcontinent?

Sub-Saharan Africa (commonly called Black Africa) is, geographically, the area of the continent of Africa that lies south of the Sahara. According to the United Nations, it consists of all African countries and territories that are fully or partially south of the Sahara.

Are there 54 or 55 countries in Africa?

There are 54 countries in Africa today, according to the United Nations.

IT\'S AMAZING:  Your question: How safe is Douala Cameroon?

Are there 53 countries in Africa?

The 53 countries in alphabetical order are: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Ivory Coast, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, …

What are the 54 African countries and their capital?

List of Country and Territory Capitals in Africa

  • Algeria – Algiers. The capital of Algeria is Algiers. …
  • Angola – Luanda. Luanda is the capital of Angola. …
  • Benin – Porto-Novo. …
  • Botswana – Gaborone. …
  • Burkina Faso – Ouagadougou. …
  • Burundi – Gitega. …
  • Cabo Verde – Praia. …
  • Cameroon – Yaoundé

Is Ethiopia a republic?

Ethiopia is a Federal Democratic Republic composed of 9 National Regional States (NRS) – Tigray, Afar, Amhara, Oromia, Somali, Benishangul-Gumuz, Southern Nations, Nationalities and Peoples Region (SNNPR), Gambella and Harari – and two administrative councils – Addis Ababa and Dire Dawa.

How many subregions are there?

These regions are further divided into 21 geographic subregions. Geographic regions: countries and areas are also grouped geographically into six major areas designated as: Africa; Asia; Europe; Latin America and the Caribbean; Northern America, and Oceania.

What is the meaning of subregions?

Definition of subregion

1 : a subdivision of a region. 2 : one of the primary divisions of a biogeographic region.

How many subregions are there in the world?

The United Nations geoscheme is a system which divides 249 countries and territories in the world into six regional, 17 subregional, and nine sub-subregional groups. It was devised by the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) based on the M49 coding classification.

IT\'S AMAZING:  Which instrument is most commonly featured in African music?

What type of region is Africa?

The continent is cut almost equally in two by the Equator, so that most of Africa lies within the tropical region, bounded on the north by the Tropic of Cancer and on the south by the Tropic of Capricorn. Because of the bulge formed by western Africa, the greater part of Africa’s territory lies north of the Equator.

How many zone do we have in Africa?

Africa observes six standard time zones, having an offset range of between UTC-1 and UTC+4.

What are the 6 regions of the African Union?

Within the African Union, there are 6 regions: North Africa, West Africa, Central Africa, East Africa, Southern Africa, plus one last region, the “Sixth Region“, which constitutes the African Diaspora.