When were the new regions created in Ghana?

A referendum on creating new regions was held in Ghana on 27 December 2018. Voting took place in the 47 districts that would potentially become part of new regions which would be created by splitting four of the existing regions.

When were the new regions created?

Current regions

The referendum on the creation of six new regions was held on 27 December 2018 – all proposed new regions were approved.

In which year was Ghana divided into 16 regions?

There are currently sixteen regions, further divided for administrative purposes into 216 local districts. The former ten regional boundaries were officially established in 1987, when the Upper West Region was inaugurated as the state’s newest administrative region.

Map and Regions of Ghana.


What are the new 16 regions in Ghana?

List of All The 16 Regions In Ghana And Their Capitals

  • The Northern Region – Tamale. …
  • The Ashanti Region – Kumasi. …
  • The Western Region – Sekondi. …
  • The Volta Region – Ho. …
  • The Eastern Region – Koforidua. …
  • The Upper West Region – Wa. …
  • The Upper East Region – Bolgatanga. …
  • The Central Region – Cape Coast.
IT\'S AMAZING:  Best answer: Is it true that Africa is splitting?

When was Ahafo region created?

The region was created on the 13th of February 2019 by Constitutional Instrument 114 . Goaso was announced as the capital of the new region.

What is the smallest region in Ghana?

Greater Accra Region is the smallest region in Ghana and is home to Accra, the capital city of Ghana. Accra, established 1877, has a population of over two million.

How many states did Ghana have?

There are 16 states in Ghana, but if you call them states in Ghana, nobody is going to know what you are talking about because, in Ghana, they are called regions.

Who created Upper West Region?

For about thirty-five years, it remained the youngest region of Ghana until 2018 when six more regions were created by the Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo government; hence increasing the total number of administrative regions in the country to sixteen.

Upper West Region
ISO 3166 code GH-UW
HDI (2017) 0.518 low · 9th

What are the 10 regions in Ghana?

… of 24,658,832 million Ghana is divided into 10 regions, namely: Upper West Region (UWR), Upper East Region (UER), Northern Region (NR), Brong-Ahafo Region (BAR), Ashanti Region (AR), Eastern Region (ER), Western Region (WR), Central Region (CR) and the Greater Accra Region (GAR).

How many districts are in Ghana in 2021?

The administrative divisions of the Republic of Ghana consist of four geographic terrestrial plains and 16 regions. For local government, there are a total of 216 districts including 145 ordinary districts, 109 municipal districts, and six metropolitan districts.

IT\'S AMAZING:  Quick Answer: Which region of Africa is the least developed?

Who designed the Ghana flag?

The Ghana National Flag was designed by Mrs. T. S Okoh, a Ghanaian, to replace the flag of the United Kingdom upon the attainment of independence in 1957. The flag of Ghana consists of the colours red, gold and green in horizontal stripes with a five pointed black star in the centre of the gold stripe.

How many metropolitan are in Ghana?

How many metropolitan assemblies are in Ghana? There are three types: six metropolitans, 56 municipal, and 154 district assemblies. There are also sub-district political and administrative structures that are subordinate bodies of the assemblies.

Which town is the center of Ghana?

Accra is the administrative, economic, and educational centre of Ghana.

Which Region was created from Ashanti region in 1958?

The capital of Brong-Ahafo is Sunyani. Brong-Ahafo was created on 14 April 1959 from the then Western Ashanti and named after the dominant and native inhabitants, Akans, Brong and Ahafo.

Brong-Ahafo region
Capital Sunyani
Districts 21
• Regional minister Kwaku Asomah-Cheremeh

Which district is Bono?

The Bono region is one of the 16 administrative regions of Ghana. It is as a result of the remainder of Brong-Ahafo region when Bono East region and Ahafo region were created. Sunyani, also known as the green city of Ghana is the regional capital.

Bono Region
Country Ghana
Capital Sunyani
Districts 12