Your question: How many cities are in Nigeria?

Nigeria has 7 cities with more than a million people, 80 cities with between 100,000 and 1 million people, and 248 cities with between 10,000 and 100,000 people. The largest city in Nigeria is Lagos, with a population of people.

What are the 7 cities in Nigeria?

List of Nigerian cities by population

  • Lagos, Lagos.
  • Kano, Kano.
  • Ibadan, Oyo.
  • Benin City, Edo.
  • Port Harcourt, Rivers.
  • Jos, Plateau.
  • Ilorin, Kwara.
  • Abuja, FCT.

What is Nigeria biggest city?

Lagos is Nigeria’s largest city and one of the largest in sub-Saharan Africa.

What is Nigeria city name?

Nigeria – 10 Largest Cities

Name Population
1 Lagos , Lagos 9,000,000
2 Kano , Kano 3,626,068
3 Ibadan , Oyo 3,565,108
4 Kaduna , Kaduna 1,582,102

Which city is the smallest in Nigeria?

Asaba is the smallest city in Nigeria by population. Short information: Asaba is a city strategically located on a hill at the western edge of the Niger River, overlooking its sister city, Onitsha, across the Niger Bridge. It is the capital of Delta State Nigeria.

Who is largest city in Africa?

List of city proper in Africa by population

IT\'S AMAZING:  What is the size of Cameroon zinc?
Rank City Population
1 Kinshasa 15,628,000
2 Lagos 15,388,000
3 Cairo 10,025,657
4 Giza 9,200,000

How many states Nigeria have?

Nigeria is a federal republic of 36 states and a federal capital territory, with a population of about 150 million.

What Colour is Nigeria flag?

Flag of Nigeria

Proportion 1:2
Adopted 1 October 1960
Design A vertical bicolour triband of green, white and green
Designed by Michael Taiwo Akinkunmi
Variant flag of Federal Republic of Nigeria

Which state is the richest in Nigeria?

Lagos state

Lagos is unarguably the richest state in the country with a GDP of $33,679. The GDP is the highest in the country. In fact, the GDP of Lagos is higher than that of 42 African nations put together.

Which city is the capital of Nigeria?

Abuja, city, capital of Nigeria. It lies in the central part of Nigeria, in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT; created 1976). The city is approximately 300 miles (480 km) northeast of Lagos, the former capital (until 1991).

How old is Nigeria now?

Nigeria first became a republic in 1963, but succumbed to military rule three years later, after a bloody coup d’état. A separatist movement later formed the Republic of Biafra in 1967, leading to the three-year Nigerian Civil War.

History of Nigeria.

Fourth Republic 1999–present

Is Lagos bigger than Benin City?

Benin City is the capital and largest city of Edo State in southern Nigeria. It is the fourth-largest city in Nigeria after Lagos, Kano and Ibadan, with a total population of 1,782,000 as of 2021.

Who named Nigeria?

Like so many modern African states, Nigeria is the creation of European imperialism. Its very name – after the great Niger River, the country’s dominating physical feature – was suggested in the 1890s by British journalist Flora Shaw, who later became the wife of colonial governor Frederick Lugard.

IT\'S AMAZING:  Can parcels be sent to South Africa?

Is Lagos bigger than Ibadan?

Ibadan is larger than Lagos by land mass, Lagos is larger than Ibadan by Population. Ibadan is the capital and most populous city of Oyo State, Nigeria. With a population of over 3 million, it is the third most populous city in Nigeria after Lagos and Kano; it is the country’s largest city by geographical area.

Which state is the best in Nigeria?

Top 10 Most Beautiful States In Nigeria (2022)

  • Enugu. …
  • Rivers State. …
  • Delta State. …
  • Kaduna State. …
  • Cross River State. …
  • Akwa Ibom State. …
  • Ondo State. A Southwestern state with a rich landscape for agriculture and beautiful topography. …
  • Imo State. Owerri the state capital is said to be the glory of the East.

Where is the first capital of Nigeria?

Calabar is considered as the first capital of Nigeria because it served as the first capital of the Southern Protectorate, the Oil River Protectorate, and Niger Coast Protectorate. This was until the late nineteenth century, when the administrative centre of the Southern protectorate was moved to Lagos in 1906.